A new Libertarian party?

In the past few days a new political party has been formed here in Britain, one that’s based on Libertarian principles. They are calling this new party… Libertarian Party.

Generally speaking I like the idea of a libertarian party here in Britain, but this group is making it a tad difficult for me to support them. For one thing they are fully supportive of the British military, saying that they’d be in our minds and budget. Is there a need for a standing army in a libertarian society? I don’t think so. For me, having voluntary militia and or territorial army units would be far better.

Another reason why it is that I am unable to support them is their stance on Europe, i.e. the EU. Basically they are against it. I’m not a fan of the EU in the way it’s formated now, being as it is corrupt and heavily statist (I’d call myself an EU reformist). But to pull out would be a disaster. This is an isolationist policy. Not only that, but we’d have to abide by EU laws if we want to trade with them, laws we would not be able to change from the outside.

No, I will not be supporting this new libertarian party.

Related link

Libertarian Party = http://www.lpuk.org/

One Response to “A new Libertarian party?”

  1. Rich Paul Says:

    I have a simple policy. I will support any organization which would, if it succeeded, leave me freer than I am now. I will prioritize that support based on the magnitude of the increase in freedom, moderated by the probability of success.

    I’m a Ron Paul supporter, and anti-war, and will support the (American) Libertarian candidate if he does not get the nomination. Even if that candidate is pro-war. (I don’t know if any of them are pro-war, to be honest).

    Why?

    Because everybody else out there wants to take my freedom away, and the Libertarian wants to increase it. If he doesn’t want to increase it as much as I would like this year, he’s still better than the others.


Leave a Reply

